2024 Chapter Advisor Honors Recipients

Continued Commitment

Allison Gladfelter, Ph.D., CCC-SLP
Northern Illinois University 

“Dr. Gladfelter is known for her encouragement of student leadership and engagement. Because she is so engaged on campus, practically every conversation with her is bound to include an enthusiastic digression about a new opportunity for students… Dr. Gladfelter does a wonderful job of demonstrating NSSLHA’s core values. She demonstrates philanthropy by hosting events with the Autism Caregiver Group which provides free books to support children’s literacy. This group also exemplifies her commitment to community service… Dr. Gladfelter is very aware of the current issues in our career, and she takes time to answer members’ questions about graduate school and beyond… During her frequent meetings with students, she is known for her enthusiasm for research, her ability to explain complex topics, and her unyielding belief in her students’ potential.” 

Making Waves

Joelle Rasmussen, M.S., CCC-SLP 
University of Utah

“[She] continues to dedicate herself to the educational foundation of our chapter’s students. The sheer fact that she would rather be addressed on a first-name basis demonstrates her desire to be a friend and peer rather than an authoritative figure. Joelle never fails to selflessly support students and our NSSLHA chapter. She encourages students to engage in National NSSLHA events by sharing exciting opportunities with our officers and students... Joelle leads by example. Even after long school days, Joelle commits to attending every NSSLHA event and officer meeting. During officer meetings, she is fully engaged, offering support and suggesting ideas for events… A recent graduate of the Speech-Language Pathology program mentioned, 'There were many times I went into her office and cried… She got me through some of the toughest points in grad school.' Joelle is always a safe place for students.” 

Previous Recipients

  • Continued Commitment: George Pagano, M.S., CCC-SLP, Long Island University (LIU), Brooklyn
  • Making Waves: Tara Marshall, M.S., CCC-SLP, Fort Hays State University
  • Continued Commitment: Leslie Grubler, MA, CCC-SLP, CUNY, Lehman College
  • Making Waves: Dr. C. Melanie Schuele, Ph.D. CCC-SLP, Vanderbilt University
  • Continued Commitment: Dr. Lillian Stiegler, CCC-SLP, Southeastern Louisiana University
  • Making Waves: Dr. Jeridy Oetken, CCC-SLP, Kansas State University
    Back to Top